Musical Moments October 2018
  • Date: Monday, October 01, 2018
  • Time: 7:00 p.m. Drinks - 7:30 p.m. Concert
  • Member Price: £ 15
  • Non-member Price: £ 18
  • Entry price includes concert, buffet and wine.

We are happy to announce the latest of our monthly 'Musical Moments'. These concerts take place on the first Monday of every month and are followed by a buffet with wine. This month we welcome Isabel Kent playing oboe.

The ‘Musical Moments’ concerts have been made possible by the very kind cooperation of The Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance. We are very privileged in being able to present these young, highly talented musicians who are already making their mark in the music world.

Isabel started playing the piano at the age of 7 and the oboe at the age of 8. She studied at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Junior department for 5 years under the tutorage of Stephen West for oboe and Marika Slater for piano. During this time she won the prestigious concerto competition and performed the Cimarosa Oboe Concerto with the symphony orchestra at the conservatoire.

After gaining a place in the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland, Isabel has been on many UK tours with them. She was fortunate enough to tour China with the orchestra and play in The Proms at the Royal Albert Hall. Having gained the Gladys Braton scholarship to study oboe on the BMus(hons) course at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, she is now in her final year. Two years ago Isabel won the Harold Clarke woodwind competition at Trinity Laban Conservatoire and this year Isabel was awarded the prize for ‘the most deserving woodwind player’.

Isabel has recently returned from studying at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm where she chose to study with Emmanuel Laville and Bengt Rosengren. Here she was involved in many concerts with the Royal College of Music’s Symphony Orchestra. Most recently Isabel won the Evelyn Rothwell Oboe Competition at Trinity Laban Conservatoire as well as gaining a highly recommended prize in the Harold Clarke Woodwind Competition.



Francis Poulenc (1899 – 1963)

Oboe Sonata

  • Elegie: Paisiblement
  • Scherzo: Tres anime
  • Deploration: Tres calme

Gabriel Grovlez (1879 – 1944)

Sarabande and Allegro

Piano piece by accompanist TBC

J S Bach (1685 – 1750)


Camille Saint-Saens (1835 – 1921)

Oboe Sonata

  • Andantino
  • Ad libitum – Allegretto – Ad libitum
  • Molto allegro

Upcoming Events